May 23, 2024

Singapore Prizes recognize individuals and organisations whose efforts push the limits in science, technology, research, education, innovation and public service. Government, industry and academic organisations award medals and awards – such as cups, trophies, bowls badges state decorations – as prizes to those making outstanding contributions to Singapore and beyond.

At this year’s NUS Singapore History Prize, one of the merit winners included a book on the origins of modern Singaporean Malay cuisine. NUS Press and Department of History initiated this award in 2014 to enhance engagement with Singaporean history, make its complexities more accessible, and foster greater insight into this nation. Prize of S$50k awarded every three years; jury panel that selected archaeologist John Miksic’s book Singapore and the Silk Road of the Sea, 1300-1800 as this year’s winner chaired by NUS Asia Research Institute distinguished fellow Kishore Mahbubani was made up of novelist Meira Chand, historian Peter Coclanis, economist Lam San Ling, as well as Dr Jocelyne Tan of NUS Department of History as members.

Sonny Liew, the acclaimed comics artist who won multiple Eisner awards – considered to be the Oscars of comics art – has received the inaugural President’s Young Singapore Award (PSTA) for Arts and Cultural Innovation on February 11th 2022 at an inaugural award ceremony held by President’s Young Singapore Award (PSTA). PSTA honours individuals and organisations that push creative design innovation forward and recognises them for their contribution.

Britain’s Prince William has selected Singapore for this year’s Earthshot Prize awards ceremony, an initiative created to encourage innovators and entrepreneurs to develop technologies that address climate change. He will present them on Tuesday to winning entries such as solar-powered dryers to tackle food waste or an innovative method for testing electric car batteries, Kensington Palace announced. Celebrities including actor Donnie Yen and Australian wildlife conservationist Robert Irwin will join Prince William on a “green carpet” to honor them on that evening.

Mahbubani revealed to The Straits Times that plans are underway to expand eligibility criteria for the prize, which was named in honour of President John F Kennedy’s 1962 “moonshot” speech urging Americans to land on the moon by 2030. He expressed hope that this award would inspire “people to think creatively and innovatively about how we can tell our stories in innovative ways” — adding that movies, comics and fiction all deserve consideration as valid forms of expression. Check out more of Publishing Perspectives’ awards coverage here. For the next round of awards to be presented in April, click here and stay up-to-date by following us on social media: Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram are great ways to stay in the know; to subscribe to our newsletter click here; if you would like to contribute an article contact [email protected] directly – all rights are reserved by Publishing Perspectives and cannot be copied, published, rewritten or redistributed without written approval from Publishing Perspectives.